13 thoughts on “All Pervasive

  1. I seldom check my email anymore, I use a tablet for most internet things, and my cell phone mostly sits in a drawer unless we are travelling to the city 800 kms away. I’m not so important I need to be available all the time.
    I grew up without computers, when telephones were stationary and you had to be home to use your own phone, and when mail was delivered by snails.
    People in the modern world are so busy doing they have little time for reflecting. I can’t live like that…

    Liked by 2 people

    • And there I was about to reply when WP binned your initial comment- a perfect example of what is wrong with ‘Techno’!
      Anyway, as I was typing before I was so RUDELY interrupted (looking at you WP!!!).
      There are benefits of course, without this we would not have met and been able discuss and exchange. Also I was able to get books ‘out there’. And it does supply a line for folk who are isolated for one reason or another.
      That said it is having a ‘Black Hole’ Effect of dragging folk in to trivial matters and worse into the mire of mis-information of Hate-Mongering. Then there is the ‘requirement’ of being logged into technology as large combines close down their face to face contact. That said as soon as the printing press was invented inflammatory pamphlets became common currency. Humanity cannot just make the best of something, can it?

      Like

      • Slowly, very slowly. Those who would misuse technology seem to adapt faster than than those who would use it for good.
        Don’t know if you saw it on your news, but a deepfake of our Prime Minister was used to try to sell cryptocurrency, and pheople fell for it.
        They played the video last night and while the picture is real, the soundtrack isn’t. I could see it was fake, but if you were just listening, not really watching, you might not notice.
        WP binned my comnent?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Starting with last first.
        Yeah WP has this knack of sometimes just barging in on my reply to a comment and saying it’s binned it. Frib knows why!

        We’ve had that style of obvious crap turning up on UK sites, some with ridiculous headlines that ‘So-and-So’ has been threatened with legal action for revealing the benefits of ‘this product’.
        One of the more subtle ones which ‘passed muster’ as a genuine advert on FaceBook was for a high powered torch. The pitch was should this be banned as dangerous, the inference here being that the beam was so strong it could permanently damage the eye sight of any intruder. What an appeal eh? Who needs a gun licence when you can blind someone with a torch instead.

        It does beggar belief that folk would fall for the money scams but greed, credulity and on FB using an innocent part as someone who is ‘sharing’ these details does work.
        I guess the creeps who prey work on the basis that if they flood the market, and only get a 10% response it’s still ‘money in the bank’

        (PS- I’ve not forgotten the 1,000 word challenge old friend. Still working on a response to Professor Taboo’s masterful piece – you don’t reply to a 4,000+ word post with a ‘snappy’ one-liner)

        Like

Leave a comment